ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

“Baltic Fortress” division

The fortress structures of Pillau (Baltiysk) represent a monument of military-defence architecture. This is a unique masterpiece of European fortifications of the 17th-20th centuries, of the history of engineering thought and construction art, as well as the main attraction of the city. The fortress Pillau is located on the shore of a strait which was formed in the 15th century.

The construction of the fortress began in 1626, during the Swedish-Polish war, on the order of King of Sweden Gustav II Adolf. Until 1635, the fortifications were shaped as earthen ramparts framed by a wooden stacket. In 1640, Prince Elector Frederick Wilhelm the Great came to power in Prussia, who supervised the construction of a fortress made of stone and brick. The fortress citadel represents a pentagon with 80-metre sides - a five-pointed star, where each corner is a bastion bearing its own name: Albrecht, Prussia, König (King), Königin (Queen) and Crown Prince (Prince Royal).

The inner courtyard of the fortress once contained barracks, warehouses, workshops, a prison and a church, the houses of the main priest, the governor and the commandant; an arsenal. Unfortunately, only the curtain warehouses and three buildings on the territory have been preserved to our days.

The history of the Baltic fortress is closely connected with the development of the Russian state. In 1697, the future emperor of Russia Peter I visited the fortress for the first time. Here he studied bombardier and artillery art, as well as fortification art.

From 1758 to 1762, East Prussia was a province of Russia, where Empress Elizabeth was called "King" of Prussia. During these years the fortress was under the authority of Russian commandants, and its garrison consisted mainly of Russian soldiers. The close cooperation between Russia and Prussia continued in the following centuries, and fortress Pillau played an important role in it.

The Second World War did not miss the Pillau citadel. In April 1945, the city faced severe battles. On the night of April 26, the soldiers of the 1st Proletarian Moscow-Minsk Division under command of Major-General P.F. Tolstikov took possession of the fortress after a storm. All the subsequent history of the citadel is connected with the Baltic Fleet.

In June 1994, the fortress was included in the state register as a monument of history and culture, and in 1999 a number of fortifications were transferred to the Baltic Fleet Museum by a Directive of Baltic Fleet Commander Admiral V.G. Egorov.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Отделение "Балтийская крепость"

Крепостные сооружения Пиллау (Балтийска) являются памятником военно-оборонительного зодчества. Это уникальный шедевр европейской фортификации XVII–XX веков, истории инженерной мысли и строительного искусства, а также главная достопримечательность города. Крепость Пиллау располагается на берегу пролива, который был образован еще в XV столетии.

Строительство крепости началось в 1626 году – во время Польско-шведской войны по приказу короля Швеции Густава II Адольфа. До 1635 года крепостные сооружения имели вид земляных валов, обрамленных деревянным частоколом. В 1640 году к власти в Пруссии пришел курфюрст Фридрих Вильгельм Великий, под руководством которого началось строительство крепости из камня и кирпича. Цитадель крепости представляет собой пятиугольник со сторонами в 80 метров – пятиконечную звезду, каждый угол которой является бастионом и носит свое имя: Альбрехт, Пруссия, Кёниг (Король), Кёнигин (Королева) и Кронпринц (Наследный принц).

Внутренний двор крепости  когда-то составляли казармы, склады, тюрьма, мастерские, кирха, дома священника, губернатора и коменданта, а также арсенал. К сожалению, до наших дней сохранились лишь складские помещения в куртинах и три здания на территории.

История Балтийской крепости тесно связана с развитием Российского государства. В 1697 году крепость впервые посетил будущий император России Петр I. Здесь он обучался бомбардирскому и артиллерийскому мастерству, а также фортификационному искусству.

С 1758 по 1762 год Восточная Пруссия являлась провинцией России, где императрицу Елизавету называли «король» Пруссии. В эти годы крепость находилась под управлением русских комендантов, и ее гарнизон состоял в основном из русских солдат. Тесное сотрудничество России и Пруссии продолжалось в последующие столетия, и крепость Пиллау играла в нем не последнюю роль.

Через пиллаусскую цитадель прокатилась и Вторая мировая война. В апреле 1945 года шли бои за город. В ночь на 26 апреля воины 1-й Пролетарской Московско-Минской дивизии генерал-майора П.Ф. Толстикова в результате штурма овладели крепостью. Вся дальнейшая ее история связана с Балтийским флотом.

В июне 1994 года крепость была поставлена на государственный учет как памятник истории и культуры, а в 1999 году Директивой командующего Балтийским флотом адмирала В.Г. Егорова часть крепостных сооружений была передана Музею Балтийского флота.