ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

The Ladoga route in the winter of 1942-1943

The preparation for the work of the ice route in the winter of 1942-1943 had begun long in advance. The "Action plan for the organization of an auto route across Lake Ladoga for the winter period of 1942/1943" was approved at the end of August 1942. The plan included not only vehicular routes, but also the construction of a railway on the ice of the Shlisselburg bay. On October 31 the decree "On the construction of a military auto route across Lake Ladoga for 1942-1943" was approved. The document was signed by the commanders of the defense of Leningrad L. A. Govorov, A. A. Zhdanov, A. A. Kuznetsov, T. F. Shtykov and N. V. Solovyev.

The second winter of the siege was warm. Ladoga did not freeze, and this delayed the beginning of the function of the ice route. It was only on December 20, 1942 that the first horse-drawn transport went across Ladoga, and on December 24 it was allowed to transport cargo on cars. In spite of the extremely adverse conditions for the functioning of the ice route – the movement of the ice that sometimes shifted, forming cracks – the route functioned at the full scale. Along the route little houses on sledge runners were positioned, together with the tents for traffic controllers and repair trucks. During the winter the bridge construction brigades built more than 500 demountable bridges in order to cover the cracks. The security and the anti-air defense of the ice route increased.

Carrying out the decree of the State Defense Commitee dated November 21, 1942, the soldiers of the 9th railway brigade started building a pile-and-ice railway bridge across Ladoga from the West bank, with the soldiers of the 11th railway brigade building the same bridge from the East bank. The 35 kilometer long railway was supposed to connect the Ladozhskoe ozero and Kobona stations. The construction of the railway line was stopped due to the breach of the siege around Leningrad.

The main task of the ice route was the provision of all necessary items to the forces of the Leningrad front line and the Baltic fleet that were getting ready to break the blockade of Leningrad. In total during the time of function of the ice route in 1942-1943 the route helped transport to Leningrad 118 thousand tons of food supplies, 55 thousand tons of ammunition, 33 thousand tons of coal and fuel. 88 thousand people were evacuated. On March 30, 1943 the ice route was closed, and on April 4 the third wartime navigation opened on Ladoga.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Ладожская трасса зимой 1942—1943 годов

Подготовка к работе ледовой трассы зимой 1942–1943 годов началась заблаговременно, в конце августа 1942 года был утвержден «План мероприятий по организации автомобильной дороги через Ладожское озеро на зимний период 1942/1943 года». Этот план предусматривал не только автогужевые трассы, но и строительство железнодорожного пути по льду Шлиссельбургской губы. 31 октября было принято постановление «О строительстве Военно-автомобильной дороги через Ладожское озеро на 1942–1943 годы». Документ подписали руководители обороны Ленинграда Л.А.Говоров, А.А.Жданов, А.А.Кузнецов, Т.Ф.Штыков и Н.В.Соловьев.

Вторая блокадная зима выдалась теплой, Ладога не замерзала, что тормозило начало функционирования ледовой трассы. Лишь 20 декабря 1942 года началось движение на лошадях, а 24 декабря была разрешена перевозка грузов на автомашинах. Несмотря на чрезвычайно неблагоприятные условия для работы ледовой дороги — подвижность льда, который периодически смещался, образуя трещины, трасса действовала в полную силу. На всем пути стояли домики на полозьях, палатки регулировщиков, ремонтные летучки. В течение зимы силами мостостроительных частей было сделано более 500 сборно-разборных мостов для перекрытия трещин. Усилилась охрана и противовоздушная оборона ледовой дороги.

Выполняя постановление ГКО от 21 ноября 1942 года, началось сооружение свайно-ледовой железнодорожной переправы через Ладогу силами бойцов 9-й железнодорожной бригады с западного берега и 11-й железнодорожной бригады с восточного берега. Железная дорога протяженностью 35 километров должна была соединить станции Ладожское озеро и Кобона. Строительство железнодорожной линии было прекращено в связи с прорывом блокады Ленинграда.

Первоочередной задачей ледовой трассы было обеспечение всем необходимым войска Ленинградского фронта и Балтийского флота, готовившихся к прорыву блокады Ленинграда. Всего  за время работы ледовой трассы в 1942–1943 годах удалось перевезти в Ленинград 118 тысяч тонн продовольствия, 55 тысяч тонн боеприпасов, 33 тысячи тонн угля и горюче-смазочных материалов, эвакуировано 88 тысяч человек. 30 марта 1943 года ледовая дорога была закрыта, а 4 апреля на Ладоге открылась третья военная навигация.